The Oxford Centre for Soft & Biological Matter

Prof Roel Dullens wins his second ERC grant

Prof Roel Dullens has been offered a Consolidator Grant in the latest round of ERC grant awards under the Condensed Matter Physics panel of the Horizon 2020 Framework. The €2.0M project is entitled “Optical Manipulation of Colloidal Interfaces, Droplets and Crystallites” and will fund a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to the study of interfacial phenomena in colloidal systems, described by referees as “ambitious and exceptionally original”. The project will start in June 2017. 

Find out more about the ERC grants here


Susan Perkin: Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize winner for 2016

Susan has been awarded the prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize. Her recent research involves an unusual class of liquids – ionic liquids – aiming to better understand their properties and develop them for applications such as electrolytes in energy storage devices.

She said: “I am enormously honored to have been selected for this prize, and delighted to have the opportunity to share my excitement about the physical chemistry of liquids with audiences around the UK as a result.”

The Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prizes are awarded for the most meritorious and promising original investigations in chemistry and published results of those investigations. The prizes are named after Edward Harrison and Raphael Meldola, commemorating their contributions to chemistry.

An illustrious list of 47 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including Harry Kroto, Fred Sanger and Linus Pauling.


Learn more on the Royal Society of Chemistry Prizes and Awards here